Ying Yang.

The Ying Yang Brothers.  Well not really.  These 2 guys only connection is dopeness, in the form of Lexus IS’s.  That and the fact that both are from Toronto.  The scene here has definately been heating up lately.  There’s still rice, here and there.  But cars like these more than make up for the riff raff.  1 is  White and 1 is  Black.  I haven’t made up my mind on which one I like better.  But as a Subie owner I’m leaning towards the black one as it’s AWD.   Wheels are a toss up..SSRs vs. Volks?  As are the coils…..JIC vs Tanabe?  Luckily it isn’t a competition.  Both IS’s are justas awesome.  As is this location.  We’ll definately be shooting there soon.  Sorry for stealing the locale. 🙂  On to the pics..

THE YING….

Your name and car.
Oliver Ng. I drive a 2006 Lexus IS250 in Glacier Frost Mica.

What do you do?
Medical Professional.

What do you love more, your girlfriend or your car?
Neither! I’m married, so obviously the love of my life is my wife and my 2 year old son.

When did you buy your car and when did you start modding it?
I placed the order for my Lexus IS250 before it even appeared in the showroom back in December 2005. I recall the aura of anticipation for the second generation IS. I had to have it regardless of cost.  There was no IS250 meeting my specifications, so it had to be fully custom built at the Kyushu manufacturing plant in Japan. The wait time was 3 months! I finally to delivery of it in March 2006. Was the wait worth it? You betcha!I began modding it in 2007. Did simple modifications in the early stages like converting the 4300K HID bulb to 6000K, installing an HID 6000K foglight and redded out the amber tail light. Then I lowered the car with the Eibach Pro-Kit. I was happy with the appearance of the vehicle at this point. Never once did I imagine to continue modifying it, until I joined Club Lexus. After seeing all the finely tuned second generation ISs, I was smitten by the desire to improve her in every fashion -We here this too often.  There are way too many people who have switched from springs to coils.  F@CKING SMART.


What mods are currently on the car?
Exterior
Lexus full GFX kit
INGS+1 trunk spoiler
JUN-TW roof spoiler
Integrated LED signal mirrors
Vinyled roof
Wheels
SSR MS1 in SBC
19×9.0 +31 on Hankook Ventus V12 Evo 225/35R19
19×10 +24 on Hankook Ventus V12 Evo 245/35R19
Project Kics R40
Suspension
JIC FLT-TAR 12kg/7kg
Performance
Joe Z intake
HKS Super Hybrid Filter
Lexus HKS exhaust
TRD oil cap
Lighting
6K HID headlights
6K HID foglights
68 SMT daytime running lights
27 SMT city lights
6 SMT puddle lights
Interior
Lexus sport pedals
Lexus illuminated scuff plates
SolarGard NR 35% tint

Do you cringe or smile when you drag frame on an obstacle?
I would certainly smile. But, I’ve never tried this…..yet.
-If my car was this nice, I’d probably be doing the same.
If you didn’t own your current car, what would you be driving? Would it be modded?
I would’ve purchased an Audi TTS. Would it be modified? Of course!

How long are you holding on to it?
I’ve reached that stage of my life where I’m a family man now. So, my priorities have changed and sadly I’m in the midst of departing my IS.

Whats next?
I picked up an Audi A3 2.0T. The interior is surprisingly more spacious and the acceleration is quicker than the IS250. Not bad for my new family car. I’ve already done some “light” modifications to it. I promised myself it won’t be modified to the extent of my IS250. We’ll see if that holds true.
-We all know that won’t last.  Oliver I hear the A3 rides great on Koni’s. 😉

Shout outs.

Thank-you to Club Lexus for breaking my wallet and for inspiring me to pursue my hobby. I met a lot of great friends having the same passion. They include, our photographer Joseph, Mike, Carson, Pete, Rule, Victor, and Steven. Special thanks to my tuning shops Speedstar, Motorworks, APH, Cartech and Bullock City. Last, but not least my lovely wife who always supported me during these past 5 years. She never once stopped me from doing what I enjoy doing. Her philosophy is, “if it makes me happy then it makes her happy.” I guess I’m a lucky fella eh?
-Yup, definately a keeper.

AND THE YANG….

Your name and car.
Joseph Yu. I drive a 2006 Lexus IS250 AWD in Black Onyx.

What do you do?
Industrial design and photography.

What do you love more, your girlfriend or your car?
Car!
-You sir are correct.  I beleive the first person to answer that question correctly.
When did you buy your car and when did you start modding it?
I took delivery of my IS back in November 2005.  Due to the car being a fresh platform, aftermarket parts were scarce.
However, simple modifications such as red overlays and yellow fogs were applied a month after delivery.  Soon after that, I had all emblems and the grille bezel painted black to match the car.  The goal for this car was to maintain a clean aesthetic while pushing for a more aggressive stance.
-More aggressive stances are ALWAYS welcome
What mods are currently on the car?
Exterior
INGS+1 style body kit
OEM Lexus trunk spoiler
JUN-TW roof spoiler
AP2 exhaust tips
Wheels
Volk Racing TE37 white with machined lip
19×8.5 +22 on Falken FK452 225/35R19
Project Kics 15mm spacer
Project Kics R40
Suspension
Tanabe DF210
Performance
Lexus F-Sport intake
Lighting
3K HID headlights
3K HID foglights
3K daytime running lights
Polarg J-51 city lights
4 SMT puddle lights
Interior
Lexus illuminated scuff plates
JVC KW-NT3HD

Do you cringe or smile when you drag frame on an obstacle?
I would cringe, but thankfully that hasn’t happened.
If you didn’t own your current car, what would you be driving? Would it be modded?
I would be in a 2004 grand prix white S2000 with an Amuse front bumper, black OEM hard top, and slammed on a set of BBS LMs.  Yep, I have thought about it, many, many times.
How long are you holding on to it?
I’ve considered moving onto a more mod-friendly platform, but ready to let go of the IS just yet.

Whats next?
IS350 big brakes are waiting to be installed while trying to find a set of BBS LMs to replace the TE37s.  Full colour change is also near the top of the to-do list. 

-I Fully support BBS LM’s.  TE37s are cool but not LMs cool. 

Shout outs.

Thank you to everyone that has been part of this hobby we all share and to the guys at Impera, Motor Workshop, Bullock City, and Speedstar.


2 thoughts on “Ying Yang.

  1. Pingback: White Lexus Is250 Black Rims Can Be Handled Nicely At Any Situation | Lexus Pictures

  2. Pingback: Ying & Yang - my.IS - Lexus IS Forum

Leave a Reply

